Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.

Messages - Dr_NANO

Pages: 1 [2]
General Discussion / Re: Does Spray take a twitch action or not?
« on: May 19, 2019, 01:37:19 PM »
From my understanding the math does not match up.

You have a Tactic and a Twitch in a round. It means basically you can do two things in a round.

You use Full offense to convert a Twitch to a Tactic. You now have two Tactics.

As Teapots first Tactic he fires and does not hit. Then at the end of the round (but before the casualties) he uses his Second Tactic to fire again and hits. Then he declares he will use Spray, but at this point he has no more Twitches.

If Spray requires a Twitch to use as it says on p 491, he is not allowed to Spray.

@LordSkys do you agree?

General Discussion / Explosive weapons
« on: May 19, 2019, 01:27:00 PM »
The explosive weapons in the book has me and my players a bit confused. In the introduction text for Flamethrower and Molotov Cocktail it states that they are not good for fighting casualties and are better against Vectors/humans.

But on p 298 it says:

 To take down the mass of a mob by more
than one, players need weapons with special
upgrades and qualities: explosive, spray, etc.

So I guess you could use explosive weapons to kill a few casualties but how excactly does it work? And does it only work with other explosive weapons such as grenades or mortar?

Let us say you throw a grenade and chose to damage several adjacent casualties. Do you roll Shoot and hope to hit the head? You need Red 10, and Black 10+ to bring down the casualties?

General Discussion / Does Vectors use the Frenzy rule?
« on: May 19, 2019, 01:14:18 PM »
Under the Strong rule for Vectors on p 304 it says:

If within one Shamble of a Vector, failed
Athletics checks cause Kill damage like any
other casualty, but the damage is increased
by the murder modifier.

Does that mean that if you fail a Athletics test to move SPD away from a Vector at Shamble 1 you get damage?

Or does this refer to the Casualties in Combat on p 297 where it states that when Shamble reaches one for the casualty mob the Taker must roll Athletics, and if they fail they get damage.

Effectively what I am asking is, is it just as hard getting away from Vectors as it is from Casualty Mobs?

Yeah there definately is downsides to being Immune, 350 bounty is an insane amount of money.

But then again the rules create a scenario where it is advantageous to get bit on purpose, that is what I find weird. It takes a lot of the horror out of a potentially life threatening situation.

General Discussion / Re: SPD of horse in combat
« on: May 19, 2019, 11:54:30 AM »
The horse does have lot of combat upgrades; autonomous, ornery, warhorse, hardy. So it seems it was meant by the designers to be used in combat.

And I can certainly see where my players come from with the idea to take a horse into casualty combat.

But then it needs a SPD. Maybe SPD 6? Then it is faster than any human/Vector.

General Discussion / Does Spray take a twitch action or not?
« on: May 19, 2019, 11:45:53 AM »
My friends and I are reading through the rules, and there seems to be some errors in the rulebook regarding the Spray upgrade.

On p. 287 under Spray it states that on a succesful attack you can burn three charges for a free attack. No mention of twitch here.

On p. 491 in the summary of special maneuvers it states the same as above, but you need to use a Twitch to use Spray.

On p. 300 Teapot spends Twitch to spray. But then on p. 301 Teapot use Full Offense (using his twitch) and when his second attack hits he uses Spray, even though he does not have any Twitch left?

So the rules have text that does not mention using twitch and some mentioning using twitch. Which one is correct? (and which one is a typo?)

General Discussion / Re: SPD of horse in combat
« on: May 19, 2019, 11:18:53 AM »
Yes, you could play it more like a vehicle.

 The question came from one of my players and I guess he say it as way to do Mounted Combat like in Dungeons and Dragons.

They had the same question for the bicycle but I guess your answer would be the same?

My players and I are reading all the rules prior to starting a campaign next week, and we found a way the rules play out a bit funny together.

Lets assume you have 2 Will and a blood testing unit and you unfortunately get bit.

The blood kit allows the player to make the Infection test and spend Will to alter it. Let us say that you are unlucky and fail the roll.

If you have two will you can:

1) Switch Red and Black numbers, turning your failure into a succes.

2) Upgrade a succes to a critical succes. Meaning that you turn Immune.

I think this is a bit weird and I searched the book for a place that said maybe you can only spend one point of Will to affect a roll. But under Profit System there was no such clarification.

How do you guys play it?

Sure a blood testing unit and two will is an investment, but I think it removes quite a deal of excitement from casualty combat. I guess you would also need to check it the next round after you get bit if it is a Vector, as you turn in a matter of round equal to the Red dice. I would say the GM rolls infection when a Vector bites and the players need to do their own check with a blood testing unit before that roll expires.

General Discussion / Re: The Spear Crossbar upgrade
« on: May 19, 2019, 10:59:17 AM »
That was also how I would play the rule.

Good observation about the Reach upgrade. If you have Crossbar but not Reach you could keep it away from other Takers but hope you do not get hit.

General Discussion / Re: Movement and running away from casualties
« on: May 19, 2019, 10:56:16 AM »
Thats was also my interpretation so far. But that assumes that casualties are further than 1 Shamble away. From my read through there are 3 conditions that informs how movement works:

1) Casualties are far away (x>1 shambles) You can use your tactic to burn a ration and move your SPD with a succesful Athletics check. (And as @Lordskys mention declare full offense on your turn and convert your twitch to a Tactic that occurs at the end of the round, allowing for example a ranged attack)

2)Casualties will at the end of the round be at Shamble=1 (and attack you): If you still have a twitch you get a chance to evade the the mob as per page 297 left column. Does this mean that you again move SPD with a succesful Athletics check? Or does it just mean that you do not get damaged and stay in place?

3) Casualties are at shamble=1 at the beginning of your turn. Then you have option a-d as listed under Frenzy on p. 297?

General Discussion / The Spear Crossbar upgrade
« on: May 18, 2019, 01:47:34 PM »
The Spear Crossbar upgrade states that the weapon can hold a casualty/Vector in place with a Resistance check.

How is that used in combat?

My guess is that you use a Tactic to "hook" the casualty and make a Resistance check burning rations to increase succes?

General Discussion / Movement and running away from casualties
« on: May 18, 2019, 01:34:32 PM »
Just ran the quickstart rules scenario for some friends and there were some of the rules I definately did not understand. Casualties move 1 Shamble per combat round toward the Takers, but what if they want to run away?

How far can the Takers move if they want to get closer and go into melee with a casualty?

What about Vectors? They are described as inhumanly fast, so can you outrun them?

General Discussion / SPD of horse in combat
« on: May 18, 2019, 01:33:00 PM »
The Ornery upgrade for the horse suggests that you can use it in combat. But in order to keep it out of the hands of hungry casualties I need to know what its SPD is?

I would assume you use Profession Animal Handling to move SPD in combat and burn a charge of the horse as it is charged? Just like a person would use Athletics and burn of a ration charge.

My players have the same question for the bicycle?

Pages: 1 [2]